Show Review – Crawley 2013

Although somewhat delayed, I felt it was worth putting a few words together in retrospect of the recent Crawley Show – one which I attend on an on/off basis depending on the layouts attending.

The 2013 show saw Highbury Colliery attending, which, coupled with an empty diary made it worth the rail journey to Horsham for a look around.

Overall I found the quality of the show to be somewhat mixed, there were some excellent finescale layouts on display and some of a somewhat dubious standard….. Highbury Colliery stole the show for me, although I was also impressed with the large EM SR layout set in the New Forest – despite the operators somewhat uncomplimentary remarks about P4 modellers which I decided to ignore….

Looking at the Crawley MRS website I see ‘Cliffhanger’ won layout of the show – having seen it at Warley last year and been unimpressed, my opinion was not changed on the second viewing, but there we go, others obviously like it!

I didn’t get a chance to grab any photos on the day so its words only today I am afraid. I see next year that both Woodhead in N and Kier Hardy’s Wibdenshaw are attending, so that is already in the diary!

Next up on the show calender – Railex at the end of May!

Leave a Reply

