Hopper progress

Modelling heavily industrialised locations, as I choose to do, means a large number of wagons for the conveyance of coal are required, in one variety or another. While I continue to collect 16T mineral wagons, picking them up when I find them cheaply available, a collection of various hoppers is progressing and building or modifying them is filling my modelling time at the moment.

The rake of 15 HOP32AB’s have been sidelined for the time being, pending the acquasition of some more metal to do the cross beams. However, they are coming along quite nicely and have had lettering added since this photo was taken.

  

Alongside these, I am working on a rake of 21T hoppers, from a variety of sources:

 

BR chassis with riveted body: Dapol models fitted with the Dave Bradwell detailing etch and new handrails, the fitting of these improvements transforms the model!

 

 

LNER chassis with riveted body: Latest release Hornby with 3 links fitted and not a lot else, although i may replace the hopper door handles with some in the shut position. I’ve also removed the Comic Sans lettering from the body side panel, to be replaced with something from Modelmasters. For Β£13 these wagons are top draw and its pleasing to see Hornby back at the top of their game!

 

 

From Parkside kits we have a BR welded body example and a rebodied one I have fitted to an LNER chassis as the wagon would be quite early in the reboot programme. I think there are another 5 Parkside kits to do to make up the rake.

 

Finally, I picked up this kit for an LNER 24.5T hopper off eBay recently. Something a bit different although I’m not 100% sure what to use it for!

I will try and post some progress pictures as this little lot progress.

Chris 

5 thoughts on “Hopper progress

  1. Chris, the hopper is an interesting oddity but not what it seems. The LNER didn’t have 24.5 tonners, I believe the body shape is that of the prototype BR standard 24.5 tonner, B333000 – but only that one πŸ™‚

    1. Cheers Ian, thank you for shedding some light on it – it’s been a bit of a mystery for a while…. It was sold as a kit for an LNER 24.5T but I’d struggled finding pictures of these, coming to the conclusion they may have been identical to the BR ones. I need to do a bit of work on it as I lost a few parts while moving, so will look into that prototype a bit more in time.

Leave a Reply

