More mineral wagons….

Last week in the lead up to the East Anglian Model Railway show at Huntingdon I had a bit of a push on getting some more 16 tonners complete.

Here we see the latest four to emerge from the weathering workshop, awaiting their end door stripe.

  
Overall I am really pleased with how these have come out, although I’ve just realised these are afflicted by the same reverse brake linkage issue as Tom Foster’s latest project seen over on his  TF Modelling blog. Something to sort out at some point as that will bug me now!

You may notice these are a bit cleaner than most of my wagons, that being because they are intended to appear on Andy Jones’ Herstmonceux‘ layout, which is set in the early – mid 50’s…. I’m sure they’re probably still a bit ropey, especially for the early 50’s but they feel right to me, and can also be put into service in my early 1970’s period without looking completely unreasonable…

The rust on these was achieved using a mix of black/dark grey and rust coloured acrylics, either from Revell or Tamiya. These were applied in small quantities over a rough coat of Revell no 76, which, among plenty of others, I feel is the best representation of BR unfitted grey. Rather than working from a prototype photo, I went with what looked right to me, and as a result could complete the job reasonably quickly (around 2 1/2 hours at the local club one evening saw all four done.) smaller scrapes and scratched were then added with a rustier shade and a fine brush prior to numbering, using Modelmaster transfers.

These wagons will appear as part of a rake of 15, trundling between the Kent coalfield and Brighton. As such I needed to think of a way of making a removable load, something most of my wagons lack at the moment! An evening with some foam board, black paint and crushed real coal resulted in some removable loads being completed – experience of operating them has revealed a need for a magnet to aid removal though!

 
That’s all for now, at least the divisional manager can breathe a sigh of relief at some of their trains hauling something to create some revenue!

Chris

3 thoughts on “More mineral wagons….

  1. Very nice indeed. The hardest part IMO is getting a nice crisp edge to where the paint flakes off the underlying rust. Flakey minerals are hard work in the paintshop, but satisfying when you crack something that looks natural. 🙂

    Watch your shades of grey when spanning such a wide timeframe – I believe it changed at some point, but others will be able to confirm. (I only vaguely recall a discussion at the club one night)

    1. Thanks Jamie! I agree and although I’d like to say the edges on these are a result of much practice, in honesty luck probably has something to do with it!!

      On the subject of colour, I believe there were two different colours used, but also imagine there was a reasonable amount of variation between different works etc, leading to a fair variation of grey – certainly mine are fairly mixed through the rake with some wearing Bachmann’s dark grey still to provide a little variety….

      1. Aye, don’t count me amongst the pedants. Whichever is the darker shade just doesn’t sit right in my eyes, howver accurate it is.
        Luck is everything in my experience too… but you’re doubly lucky if you can figure out and remember what went right for the next time you try 🙂

Leave a Reply

