Layout Progress #5

Most of you who follow us probably follow Mark Tatlow’s Highland Miscellany blog (and if you don’t you should). If you do you would of seen that Mark, some friends and OTCM got together to do some modelling…

Over the weekend we went down to Peter Bond’s workshop and really out of all the modellers present I probably achieved the least!!

Before I went I realised I needed more traction for Six Quarters and I remembered that somewhere tucked away was an old split chassis from Bachmann for a Drewry (03/04 I can never tell the difference) that I had liberated from Chris’ attic some years ago. A quick search on eBay and I picked up a BR green body for a tenner posted. A bit of detailing later and some weathering at Pete’s produced NCB No 9.

I am not sure if I mentioned last time, but modelling funds have run well and truly dry as my limited family income is pushed out to other stuff (the kids need clothes apparently)

So anything I can get my hands on is being used to add bits to the layout. First up in the cupboard I found some kebab sticks, these were cut up for telephone poles and some EZ line left over from Stoating was strung up. The reason the one nearest the camera suddenly stops is because it will eventually feed the two houses to the left. While not perfect they cost me 0.00p. The beauty of building small layouts is you will always have stuff left over from an earlier project.

27064262123_41021d30da_b

Also thanks to Mark lending me his Noch static grass machine I could get my final coat of Static grass completed which was toned in using a mix of powders – it is very bright otherwise. You may also notice the real coal (left over from winter… 0.00p) and the point handles (found in a tin in the attic from years ago… 0.00p).

27396504280_73f0eff23a_b

27396503020_da8a42d20a_b

In that last photo is the little digger featured in the GUY Big J post, this is nearing completion.

27640000986_292d8e19c7_b

Also in the above photos some the more eagle eyed may have noticed the lamp post, this is situated on the far right of the layout to give some balance in height otherwise it would be very left hand heavy. I am a fan of a nicely balanced layout especially in terms of height. I may just be mental though.

This lampost is another kebab stick, some masking tape wrapped repeatedly around the base and a light off an old layout again found in the attic, the junction box at the bottom was from something I found in the kitchen drawer, again you guessed it 0.00p.

27062987554_6955c336a3_b

Now I won’t lie, I would usually have brought these items, but being broke has forced me to do some modelling and they may not be perfect but I do feel better than I ever would of done planting something from a packet. The three small projects completed above did not cost me a pence, and it made me wonder how many more people have stuff knocking around forgotten in dark recesses or in fact hiding in plain sight just ready to be converted for use at no cost at all?

With that thought I leave you with some overall layout shots at the bottom of the page. Next up is the pelmet and lighting. The layout will be matt black, I had plans for something fancy, like Oxford blue, but with a tin of paint costing the best part of a tenner I found some Tommy Walsh Poundland Matt Black for, naturally, a pound.

My lighting system from eBay cost £8 posted, no really, here is the link:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Waterproof-5M-300-LED-3528-RGB-SMD-Strip-Light-24Key-Remote-Controller-Adapter/161859733020?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140122125356%26meid%3Dfd3b53835d87448e8d79b82cfdda9273%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D252168868238

So excluding wood (which I brought 5/6 months ago) and using what I could find/eBay/Poundland I have spent around £20. Who say’s modelling has to be expensive?

I never did get my first exhibition invite either so back to the drawing board as Chris and I would love to meet some of you in person and chat NCB steam over a pint.

But stay tuned to see just how those LEDs turn out…

Thanks folks,

Oly

PS Chris owes you all an update on what he has been weathering at Pete’s as its LOVELY.

 

27675121205_2e5ebd32bb_b

27675122055_3f5250f9ef_b

 

2 thoughts on “Layout Progress #5

  1. Outstanding effort. I understand how it feels to be broke and still modelling. Having lost my job to redundancy 20 months ago I’ve been forced to find ingenious ways to continue to model. Good on you for using the skewers. Natures most useful modelling tool. I use them for uncoupling tools for Kadees too. Love your modelling – and just recently followed too!

  2. Pingback: Monday Inspirational Modeling 4 – Matt's Railroad Blog

Leave a Reply

