Saturday Steel

It occurred to me that it is only a couple of weeks until I make my annual pilgrimage to Scunthorpe for a trip round the steelworks courtesy of the Appleby Frodingham Railway Preservation Society (AFRPS) who operate out of a small compound within the vast steelworks complex.

For anyone who has not done one of these tours and is into industrial railways, I strongly recommend it as a must visit!

I have shared below a few pictures from a hot sunny day (yes the sun really does shine in Scunthorpe!) last August when I last visited. Fingers crossed this year there will not be too many signs of decline after the awful couple of years the UK steel industry has been through…

DSC_1004

DSC_0072DSC_0051DSC_0091DSC_0003

Plus a couple from a few years ago when the weather was certainly much more atmospheric (ie it was pouring down all day). Were I to find space to model a steelworks, it would have to be on a wet, overcast day!

IMG_3864IMG_3832IMG_3825

Thats all for now. I am planning on collecting my new layout from my parents house at some point in the next week so hopefully some further progress will begin to be seen on that!

Chris

 

 

Leave a Reply

