Layout Progress #9

Its seems I am back in small jobs season again where every night 30 or 40 minutes seems to pay off with a visual difference, it has reminded me though that this layout has not really been a massive time burner, yeah there were a couple of days I spent a few hours on it, but I would not be far off where I am now if I had stuck to 30 minutes(ish) a day, roughly 5 days a week.

I have to admit though I have felt a lot better for it too, where as a glass of wine may have settled frail nerves post work previously, half an hour and a coffee with the layout seem to do a much better job of bringing stress levels back to a more reasonable rate.

I have certainly noticed a correlation in layout work rate and my stress levels. My job can be quite high pressure and difficult to endure at times and it has been  incredible to have a hobby capable of making that all but disappear. My wife and children have noticed a better me since layout construction begun. So apart from the inhaled weathering powders, accidentally drunk thinners and paint coated hands it may actually be having a positive impact on my health. Or I may just be talking out of my arse.

Anyway modelling…the biggest difference most of you probably saw was in my post last week. A tree. Ordered from 4D models as it was cheap I thought it might perk up the left hand corner. I then found this photo from The Cumbrian Railway Association. The photo shows the crossing the entire layout is based on (but flipped around) and a rather grim shed. This got me thinking I needed a shed and dumped rusty car. (Funny how the mind works)

I duly ordered a resin shed from Peedie Models, again it was cheap, and an Oxford Wolseley 4/44. I was very impressed by Peedie Models as a side note.

As I was researching dumped rusty Wolseleys I came across a photo of one covered in Autumn leaves. The rest I guess is history, well the model actually went up the hoover during a ‘mishap’ and came back out via scissors and a rather horrible job, so any dust on it is the real thing, but that aside here is how that idea panned out:

30469198632_f0737a9e6f_b
Before Idea
30469015172_22458112ec_b
Post Idea
30549404676_c147b6d3b8_b
The whole scene minus that building
29954041994_cebf2e9eef_c
The finished Oxford 4/44 – The leaves are from MP Scenery Products

29954045434_a33defc220_b

30287202980_1fee27882a_b

 

Also a really humbling and awesome thing happened. If you know me and Chris at all, and even follow this blog a little bit, you know we are a little bit into Gordon Edgar’s photos and his books. (His Flickr handle is ‘Kingmoor Klickr’ – check it out)

Without his industrial photos me and Chris would not be doing what we do, this blog probably would not exist and I doubt even our friendship would be what it is. Sounds a bit extreme does that but in all honesty I am being serious, our first joint layout only exists because of those industrial steam photo streams and Six Quarters is based around one single photo of his taken on a damp day in Cumbria. He’s our Ivo Peters. So like everyone seems to do when modelling the SDJR and do Mr Peter’s Bentley I decided to model Gordon’s mode of transport that also features in his photos, his Honda Benly motorcycle.

I emailed Gordon not expecting anything but instead have had some humbling and great replies and I have modelled as best I can with a bashed up P&D Marsh motorcycle that Honda Benly.

30585794965_fe92b3ca32_b30286425430_ba230afb95_c

Mr Edgar’s Honda Benly

Who said never meet/talk to your heroes?

29952174083_bd9a14cb02_b
And here is the layout in it’s natural surroundings. I never understand how people say they never have any room for a model. The fiddle yard lives under my bed and the layout takes up no extra space apart from height in the spare room. Chris Nevard is rumoured to be building a 2 ft x 1 ft layout with off the shelf products. That should put the naysayers to bed once and for all!

And lastly, its been a long winded blog post this one, here is what it is all about, my youngest Isla getting stuck in, nearly every step of this has had some involvement from the kids.

30286601330_60125d97da_b

As some people on modelling forums start edging up to 30,000 posts and new models become prohibitively expensive, maybe, just maybe, its time to recapture the true essence of modelling…

Thanks everyone,

Oly

 

2 thoughts on “Layout Progress #9

  1. Michael

    Totally agree about therapeutical benefits of modelling, I’m more relaxed and often sleep better when I’m doing a little modelling in the evenings – although some models can be stressful!

    Those photos look great, this layout is coming along nicely.

  2. andyj82

    Really looking forward to seeing this in the flesh Oly!
    The backscene looks cracking and the tree with fallen leaves is a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

