Filthy, Dirty, grubby, meet the model of 2016… The Peckett is finished.

My modelling recently has been somewhat lazy, I have expected results from lacklustre effort and been pissed off with the outcomes, much like my recent work life. It has been a rubbish year really for most people and by about November I had really had enough of 2016.

The only upside at the end of 2016 was the installation of a garden based workshop (ED – More a shed) it is only 6 x 8 feet, but more than enough for me. I just have to wait to get out and get it fitted out with insulation et al (read Chris has to come down and do it while I look busy).

My modelling had suffered being in the spare room. Tools were always away, stock was constantly damaged, it meant I could have a layout but it meant I was lazy as items like the airbrush took considerably more effort to get out and put back away than say a quick chassis wash. I knew that with the Peckett I wanted to model it like I would if I had my mojo in full supply and I was back to my best or at least approaching it.

I will give you an example of how much of a sheer pain in the arse ‘house modelling’ is:

31687333230_d3223f733d_b

You also have the added ‘fun’ of sheer terror as you happen to spill say green enamel down the front of your stainless steel dishwasher. Unfortunately it is not something like the sofa where you can flip a cushion over and  bide time to get your cover story straight. (If the wife is reading this, I have never ever done that and the black spill on the underside of the cushion was caused by our youngest, the one who cannot talk.)

Chris messaged me from NYC when I sent him that photo and said ‘HOW THE HELL DO YOU MODEL STANDING UP?’ which I have never really thought of, but I do prefer modelling standing up, anyone else? What you also cannot see in the reflection is my wife approaching me with a sharpened knife muttering ‘I have only just cleaned the kitchen’.

So in short it will be really nice to have a permanent workbech in my workshop (ED – Again, its a Shed)

Back to the Peckett, you really get to know a model when you are carving great lumps out of it and it was truly great to be modelling on a loco that gave me a genuine level of excitement. I really have rushed jobs on this as I was so excited to get it to the next stage, which is a shame as I could of got it sweeter but that should not detract from the fact that I am still over the moon with what has come out and on the layout the bits that worry me are near enough invisible. Maybe though that is because it is currently the apple of my eye…

So in the simplest review ever, the Peckett is great. Get one. Get eight. All our international readers, get ONE. All our British readers, if you do not already have one why not?

Weathering on this was actually with an airbrush first and I promised never ever to try and bodge something without one, then it went through the normal OTCM take it back, add it back on fiasco until it came out below,

First photos are on the cleaned up kitchen bench, second lot in her natural habitat. There is some damage and a missing window but in my mind its as good as it is going to be…

31914512262_280e82011d_b31914524282_a5601da9c3_b31252498023_363864db11_b

31252532263_471362ce89_b31914571402_3211468366_b31944499871_b5c5d950d6_b32062923775_173b59e467_b

Thanks everyone for the insane amount of constant viewership and support, it really spurs us on.

Happy New Year and happy modelling,

Oly

26 thoughts on “Filthy, Dirty, grubby, meet the model of 2016… The Peckett is finished.

    1. Never be hesitant! I did notice about 48 hours ago that they were all facing the same way and looked odd. I have finally found where to source some ground level levers which are a bit more prototypical so I am thinking of ripping them up and replacing. Jim when you say pointing the wrong way do you mean in relation to the throw of the point?

  1. I think I just worked it out, the dog leg bend at the foot of the handle is the wrong way around. Thank you Jim, probably should of looked at a prototype photo but had no idea there was a right or wrong way!

    1. p4newstreet

      Point levers of that type return to the same place regardless of the point setting. The lever should always face away from the vee.

      HTH

      Jim

  2. Well done, looks great! It appears Hornby has distributed the Peckett in the US for decent money so the temptation is strong.

    I can commiserate on the indoor modeling, I have a good sized garage but it’s minimally (if at all) insulated which means winter use is such a hassle I just don’t bother. As to standing up while modeling for some things I prefer it over sitting. As to the kitchen work I don’t know that I’d dare to work in the kitchen without a drop cloth covering everything in the splash zone

      1. If I ever come across one I’ll probably pick it up as I do want to do a British themed project but as I’m just hitting some good strides on my shelf layout I don’t have any extra hobby budget to actively seek one out without derailing the shelf layout.

      2. That hand laid track of yours is jaw dropping, how you have got to the stage you have is ultra impressive I think i would of gone crazy by now. I know what you mean about the budget, I live near Hornby’s HQ and every Christmas they have a warehouse sale where stuff is sub half price, were talking 45 pound instead of 155. I always go and usually can contain myself, naturally I blitzed most of my 2017 budget on two locos I do not think I will ever need! Peckett would look nice sat on your hand built track though!

      3. Well, I haven’t done that much track like that and only straight sections so far. Using the Proto87 fixtures it’s pretty fairly simple once you get a feel for it (but still fairly tedious).

        Is flat bottom rail and tie plates common enough for British industrial rail to be plausible for small layout featuring something like a Peckett? I’ve always assumed rail chairs and bullhead rail (assuming I have the terminology right) for that kind of layout.

        Living near a model railroad manufacturer sounds very dangerous for budgeting!

    1. Thank you Andrew, really enjoyed doing it. I see Hornby have just announced a new black coloured one for this year. Next up will probably be the Oxford Rail Janus which I am also super exicited about!

  3. That is some fantastic modeling – really captures the bulk and purpose of the loco. Did you cut away the sides of the smokebox? Any tips ? Makes all the difference. Looks more squat and powerful. Thumbs up from me. Just need to track one down….

    1. Thank you! Its pretty simple mods, the buffers are from RTModels and are his 18″ ones. The new buffers beams are just plastikard with some Archers rivet transfers on (but this could be done with a punch or even not bother) the buffer beam at the front literally pops off and the rear is attached to the back cab. On the back I had to file down the buffer beam a bit before attaching the new beam so it was closer to the cab back. The chimney was the biggest bodge its the one it came with cut in three and a middle bit thrown away!! The dome is from the bits box and I believe from ancient Dean Sidings kit. The front smokebox wings are nice and plastic and easy to cut with a scapel. Once flush they change the loco completely but then make the chimney look even taller. Thank you for your interest! Oly

  4. The Peckett turned out just beautifully. It seems to respond so well to a bit of attention.

    I laughed at the no workspace comments. They hit rather close to home here. Those marks on the furniture? Patina and that should add value…I hope!

    Chris

    1. Chris, I forgot to reply (I should never look at WordPress when in the pub) I also saw your kind words on RMweb. Thank you mate. Doing the Peckett really seemed to hit a the right note with a lot of people. The blog went a bit crazy!

      1. For what it’s worth, I see nothing wrong with looking at WordPress in the pub.

        That Peckett model is so wonderful. I’m watching the Hornby site to see when the next batch are announced so I can, as you recommend, “get one”.

        Chris

  5. Hi Guys.
    Just found your blog through a friend. I have to congratulate you on a job well done on the Peckett. Mine is still at the “cute” stage but you have given me some inspiration.
    You build my kind of layouts.
    Colin

Leave a Reply

